Let The Good Time Rolls

10 Nov

I recently saw that on a sign in Addis Ababa, the capital city of Ethiopia. English spelling/grammatical errors are overly abundant here, and they make my life much more enjoyable. Menus, signs, etc… are usually teeming with errors, and the funny thing is that no one seems to care whatsoever. I think it could be a fun full time job to be a grammar genie and travel around the world and document such misspellings in countries where English is not the primary language spoken. Perhaps post PC that’s what I’ll do. If you’d like to sponsor my travels, let me know.

A few examples of what I find humorous, from menus:
• Fillet Mingo with Mushroom Room
• Bananas Flammable
• BEAR (beer)
• Chicken Hip-Hop (First ingredient: Chicken’s Hip)
• FRESH CHEEPS
• Jousted Bread
• Vegetable Soup with Online
• Custed Loof Sandwich
• Lamp Sandwich
• Shiro FECES

Get em while they're hot

Tshirts are another thing that crack me up here. I’d say 90% of the time, people have no idea what they’re wearing/advertising on their shirt. It’s just something they picked up at the market. And I have no clue where some of the shirts come from…well, I’d say most are second hand from America, but then there are also reject shirts that end up here, that just having really random sayings/phrases/pictures on them that don’t make sense. Example: YACHTING! (insert picture of a motorcycle)…epic fail. I recently saw a man wearing a shirt that said, “All I want is Peace in the Middle East…and a blow job.” Really sir? You’re asking for a lot…

Ethiopians don’t mind blatantly taking pictures of the farenji with their camera phones, so I feel as though I should start doing the same whenever I see a hilarious shirt someone’s wearing. I could make a few coffee table books between the misspellings and funny shirts. Sounds like someone found an idea for a secondary project! Until then, I’ll keep letting the good time rollllllllllllllllllllls! (And if I ever own a bakery, that’s what I will name it!)

One Response to “Let The Good Time Rolls”

  1. mary November 14, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    you are sooo lucky to be in Ethiopia! a country with so much respect and so much love, most of the shirts they have are from the u.s, family members send it to them. dont think they dont know, most know the meaning, i dont know about the blow job one, but they know but just dont care! i cant wait to start my journey in the peace corps hopefully in my home Ethiopia

Leave a Reply

